B100 logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app
Center For Disease Control And Prevention (CDC)
Center For Disease Control And Prevention (CDC)

Gov. Reynolds announced on Monday that some businesses in 77 of Iowa's 99 counties can begin opening up again but with limited capacity. Reopening for those business can start on Friday.

Gov. Reynolds said that the 77 counties that can partially reopen either have no coronavirus activity or have seen a downward trend in positive cases over the past 14 days. On Friday, Reynolds announced that farmers markets could reopen  and hospitals could start elective procedures again if they hospital wanted to.

The businesses in the 77 counties that can operate again are:

  • Restaurants, fitness centers and retail stores can operate at 50% of normal operating capacity
  • Malls can also open at 50% operating capacity. Malls must keep play areas and other common seating areas closed
  • Social, community, recreational and leisure sporting events can open with limits to 10 people
  • Spiritual and religious gatherings that continue to follow social distancing guidelines

Businesses in the other 22 counties will continue to remain closed through May 15th. Scott, Louisa, Muscatine, Washington, Henry, Linn, and Johnson counties are included in the 22 counties remaining closed until May 15th.

Below is all of the counties that will not reopen starting on Friday:

  • Allamakee
  • Benton
  • Black Hawk
  • Bremer
  • Dallas
  • Des Moines
  • Dubuque
  • Fayette
  • Henry
  • Iowa
  • Jasper
  • Johnson
  • Linn
  • Louisa
  • Marshall
  • Muscatine
  • Polk
  • Poweshiek
  • Scott
  • Tama
  • Washington
  • Woodbury

How can I stay safe while grocery shopping? And answers to 24 other coronavirus questions


More From B100