Illinois State Police to “aggressively enforce” Mover Over Law over the next weeks
For those who still won't move over for emergency vehicles on the side of the road in Illinois, you better learn quick. Illinois State Police begin statewide additional enforcement of the Move Over law, along with all distracted driving violations.
In a social media announcement on Saturday, the Illinois State Police said they will be conducting statewide enforcement over the next several weeks to aggressively enforce the Move Over law, also known as “Scott’s Law”.
According to Illinois law, the Move Over state,
"Scott's Law, 625 ILCS 5/11-907(c), mandates that upon approaching a stationary authorized emergency vehicle, when the authorized emergency vehicle is giving a signal by displaying alternately flashing red, red and white, blue, or red and blue lights or amber or yellow warning lights, a person who drives an approaching vehicle shall move over - slowdown for stopped emergency or maintenance vehicles."
The law also states, if changing lanes is not possible or unsafe, drivers are required to proceed with due caution, reduce the speed of the vehicle and leave a safe distance until they have safely passed the stationary vehicle.
Illinois State Police say that a person who violates the Move Over Law, commits a business offense and faces a fine of no less than $250, or more than $10,000, for a first offense. Those who disobey the Move Over Law and receives a citation is also required to appear in court, regardless of what state the motorist is from. A second or subsequent violation of this offense ranges from $750 to $10,000.
If the violation results in injury to another person, the violator’s driver’s license will be suspended for a mandatory period of anywhere between six months and two years. If the violation involves property damage, the violator’s driver’s license will be suspended for a mandatory period anywhere between 3 to 12 months.
Illinois State Police are also cracking down on all distracted driving violations. Distracted driving violations are offenses against traffic regulations governing the movement of vehicles and a person who violates a distracted driving law faces a fine up to $75 for a first offense.
Distracted driving violations that officers will be especially looking for, including Scott's Law, are the following according to KWQC:
All drivers are prohibited from reading, sending, or receiving text messages or communication, and from browsing the internet.
All drivers are prohibited from using handheld electronic communication devices.
Drivers under the age of 19 are prohibited from using any cellphone, even handsfree.
All drivers are prohibited from using any cellphone, even hands-free, while in school speed zones and work zones.
School bus drivers are not permitted to use any type of cellphone, even handsfree.
It is illegal to use a cellphone or take photos or videos on wireless devices when driving within 500 feet of an emergency scene.
A person convicted of a distracted driving violation that results in serious injury or death will face penalties of not less than three years and up to six years in prison.