Is It Illegal To Get It On In Your Car In Iowa?
A lot of us have done it. But is it legal to get it on in your car in Iowa?
Cars are a popular place to make love. In fact, according to Sex & Psychology, out of 4,000 Americans, 77% said that they have fantasized about doing the deed in a car. We see it all the time-the steamy windows and makeout sessions in a car pop up in TV shows and movies a lot.
If you're just bent on getting it on in a car, you should pause for a second.
You need to be careful with where your car is when you do it. If you're caught buttering the biscuit in a car in Iowa, you could be facing some serious problems. We're talking charges and a record that could follow you around for 10 years. Sure there's a thrill involved in being risky in the intimate moments, but legit here, be careful.
Iowa's Stance On This
According to Shouse Law, no state has a law that specifically says that it's a crime to make love in a car.
You do risk being charged with a sex crime if you're caught. That includes charges like indecent exposure, lewd conduct in public, disorderly conduct, public indecency, or public lewdness. Indecent exposure is a misdemeanor in Iowa that could result in a year in prison and a fine that ranges anywhere from $315 to $1,875. And a conviction could make you register as a sex offender, which is in place for 10 years.
Iowa Law, according to Casetext, specifically says about indecent exposure:
A person who exposes the person’s genitals or pubes to another not the person’s spouse, or who commits a sex act in the presence of or view of a third person, commits a serious misdemeanor, if:
1. The person does so to arouse or satisfy the sexual desires of either party; and
2. The person knows or reasonably should know that the act is offensive to the viewer.
None of this applies to private property. So basically the fact to remember here: don't do it in a public place in a car.